A new API endpoint in MetaCPAN: Stargazer

A somewhat delayed report on my work for the past two weeks, but here it goes.

MetaCPAN has a feature where the users can recommend a module by clicking ++ button.
On similar terms, there was a request for having a feature where the user can simply “bookmark” or “star” a module for later reference. The ++ feature helps recommend a distribution as a whole, while starring works on modules. So a user can star say Moose::Cookbook as a separate bookmark from Moose.

So, the last few weeks went in setting up the backend of my VM. I had to familiarize with the creation of a new endpoint. The front end involved, displaying the button and saving the data for the user in the API.
To test my code, I required a PAUSE id. So, I obtained one just last week and could test the feature in a better way.
This particular task helped me figure out many details of the API and gave me a better understanding of the logic.

I will soon be sending a pull request in the following week.
That’s all for today.

Leave a Reply

